Orgelmuziek op Donderdag

The organ of the H. Antonius Abt churchEvery Thursday at 1.05 pm, I play a short organ recital lasting approximately half an hour in the H. Antonius Abt church in Scheveningen.

This is an opportunity to view the beautiful church with its mosaics and art-deco stained glass and hearing the organ at the same time! Admission is free, by the way.

For the current programme, please see below.
PAST PROGRAMMES: 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 (PDF files open in new window). For information on the organ, click here.

30th March 2017
Charles Marie Widor  ♦  Symphonie IV in F  Op. 13 no. 4

23rd March 2017
Johann Sebastian Bach  ♦  Prelude & Fugue in F minor  BWV 534
Gottfried August Homilius  ♦  Herzlich lieb hab ich dir, o Herr
Marcel Dupré  ♦  Prelude & Fugue in F minor  Op. 7 no. 2
Knut Nystedt  ♦  Toccata  Op. 9

16th March 2017
Julius Reubke  ♦  Sonata on the 94th Psalm

9th March 2017
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy  ♦  Prelude & Fugue in C minor  Op. 37 no. 1
Heinrich Scheidemann  ♦  Mensch, willst du leben seliglich
Louis Vierne  ♦  Résignation  Op. 55 no. 2 ♦ Toccata  Op. 53 no. 6

2nd March 2017
Johann Sebastian Bach  ♦  Aus tiefer Not schrei’ ich zu dir  BWV 686
César Franck  ♦  Prière  Op. 20
Joseph Callaerts  ♦  Toccata in E minor  Op. 29

23rd February 2017
Dietrich Buxtehude  ♦  Variations on “Vater unser im Himmelreich”
Healy Willan  ♦  Introduction, Passacaglia and Fugue

16th February 2017
Johann Gottfried Walther  ♦   Concerto del Signor Torelli in A minor
Max Reger  ♦  Basso Ostinato  ♦  Intermezzo (from Op. 129)
Jean Langlais  ♦  Fête

9th February 2017
Johannes Brahms  ♦  Prelude and Fugue in A minor
Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck  ♦  Variations on Da pacem, Domine, in diebus nostris
Ronald de Jong  ♦  Scherzo (‘Hommage à Louis Vierne’)
Jules Grison  ♦  Toccata in F

2nd February 2017
Johann Sebastian Bach  ♦  Trio Sonata no. 1 in E flat major  BWV 525
Herbert Howells  ♦  Preludio ‘Sine Nomine’
Gaston Litaize  ♦  Prélude et Danse Fuguée

26th January 2017
Georg Böhm  ♦  Præludium in G minor
César Franck  ♦  Prélude, Fugue et Variation
Remigio Renzi  ♦  Toccata in E major

19th January 2017
Dietrich Buxtehude  ♦  Prelude & Fugue in A minor
Théodore Salomé  ♦  En forme de Canon ♦ Cantilène (from “Dix Pièces”)
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy  ♦  Sonata in F  Op. 65 no. 1

12th January 2017
Josef Rheinberger  ♦  Sonata no. 20 in F  Op. 196 (“Zur Friedensfeier”)

5th January 2017
Johann Sebastian Bach  ♦  Toccata, Adagio & Fugue in C  BWV 564
Louis Vierne  ♦  Aubade  (from: “Pièces de Fantaisie” Op. 55 no. 1)
André Verwoerd  ♦  Toccata

↑ to top ↑

The Organ

The organ of the H. Antonius Abt churchThe organ of the H. Antonius Abt was built in 1927 by the firm of Jos Vermeulen from Alkmaar and had tubular pneumatic action to begin with. In 1952 the specification was drastically revised by Vermeulen and the swell box for the 2nd manual was removed. In 1984 the organ was in need of attention and repairs were carried out by Vermeulen and again in 1992 by Flentrop from Zaandam.

At the end of the 90’s the organist Gerard Legierse had the Quint 113’ moved down to a Terts 135’ on the 2nd manual. In 2002 the action was electrified by the firm of Pels & Van Leeuwen from ’s-Hertogenbosch. Further adjustments included: the Zachtbas 16’ was restored as a transmission from the 3rd manual; the voicing of the Resultantbas was tweaked; a Setzer sequencer was installed with 128 memory steps and octave and suboctave couplers were added.

The current specification of the organ is as follows:

Prestant 16’
Prestant 8’
Holpijp 8’
Salicionaal 8’
Prestant 4’
Fluit 4’
Quint 223
Octaaf 2’
Mixtuur III-VII
Trompet 16’
Trompet 8’
Klaroen 4’

MAN. II (enclosed)
Principaal 8’
Quintadeen 8’
Prestant 4’
Concertfluit 4’
Spitsquint 223
Flageolet 2’
Terts 135
Mixtuur III-VI
Hobo 8’

MAN. III (enclosed)
Bourdon 16’
Prestantviool 8’
Roerfluit 8’
Viola da Gamba 8’
Fugara 4’
Fluit 4’
Piccolo 2’
Nachthoorn 1’
Sesquialter II
Dulciaan 8’

Resultantbas 32’
Contrabas 16’
Subbas 16’
Zachtbas (trans.) 16’
Octaafbas 8’
Gedektbas 8’
Octaaf 4’
Ruispijp III
Bazuin 16’
Trombone 8’


P+I 4’

I+I 4’
I+II 16’
I+III 16’

II+III 16’

Automatic pedal

Setzer 128 comb.

General Crescendo

↑ to top ↑